Under the Weather and Off the Radar

My February has been a stark contrast to my relaxed (though productive!) January. I’ve had a whirlwind month so far, and it’s catching up with me!  I woke up with a fever yesterday morning. Fingers crossed that I don’t have the flu! I do have a cough & sore throat, but I don’t feel miserable; Mom and Littlest Sister were decidedly miserable with influenza.  (Doesn’t influenza just sound more appropriate than “flu”? Somehow three little letters don’t seem to do it justice…) If I do have the flu, it seems to be a pretty mild case.  Or, it might just be that my system is a little rundown.  I’ve tried to heap on some TLC the last few weeks in the form of OJ, oscillococcinum, Buried Treasure ACF, and lots of sleep and water (the last one is not a good thing to get more of right before bedtime, I’ve learned. Sleep is impaired when you have to get up to go to the bathroom 3x!), so maybe my hypochondria efforts have at least made this sick thing more bearable.  I’m hoping that with lazy days tomorrow and Monday I’ll be up and at ’em again!

‘Em these days is comprised of five classes (I’m overloading so that I can get certified to teach honors level courses), 17ish hours at work each week, babysitting about once a week, and a little work towards professional development/my career after graduation.  [More on that later.]

While I’ve functioned well enough to take care of these responsibilities, I haven’t had the energy to do all that much else.  I’ve thought about the things I’d like to pare down, I’ve thought about exercise ideas for when I feel better, etc., but mostly these things have gotten stuck in the thinking stage. I have been pretty good, though, about cooking food to take to work and working on my finances.  It takes very little physical exertion–okay, no physical exertion–to work on my budget. It has been a fun task this month, anyway, because of my surprise tax refund of $1028, which I wrote about here.

Two of my refunds are in ($904 and $45), and I’ve distributed them like this:

  • $575 to my Emergency Fund, bringing it to $750
  • $225 to my Roth IRA Fund, bringing it to $500
  • $149 to my Health Insurance savings account, bringing it to $229

My third refund, $79, is pending and will likely be deposited to my account on Monday.  $50 will go toward my travel fund & $29 to Irregular Expenses.

Here are a few random things that have been on my mind the last week or two as I’ve been under the weather and off of the radar (blog-wise):

  • I find that I’m really content with the seasons as they come.  I don’t mind that it’s still cold, even though I’ll love spring when it gets here.  Perhaps it is just people making small talk, but I feel like I hear “I’m ready for spring!” and “I can’t wait for it to warm up!” almost daily.
  • I’m enjoying my classes this semester.  They’re a bit harder than last semester, but I think it is much easier to put in effort when you feel like you’re learning a lot!
  • I’m going to need to buy a few more items of clothing from the store where I work.  If I’m going to be working three days a week (and perhaps even more before long, as my boss who works the weekdays that I don’t is expecting a child in late March/early April), it would be nice to have a couple more items to have in rotation. [Note: Right now I have two cotton tops, a scarf, and a sweater. I wear all of these with jeans, and there are only so many combinations I can make!] The clothes are pretty expensive, so I need to make sure that I save up, buy wisely, and only get things that I would enjoy owning outside of my job (even if I’m only buying them because of my job). I think purchasing 2 or 3 things will do me, and at least I get a 30% discount!
  • In the same breath that I profess that I think I need a few more items of clothing (and I think need really is the case, as it is for the sake of my job and because these clothes will be threadbare at the rate I’m wearing them!), I also find myself thinking about Project 333 almost daily.  I emailed the Project’s creator, Courtney Carver, this week with a few of my questions, and I received an incredibly gracious and helpful response from her.  I’ll share details and my thoughts on my wardrobe soon!
  • I can’t get enough of the pictures of this little dog!  Check out Henry at From Portland to Peonies.   It will be several years before I’m ready for a dog of my own, but oooooh, I’m excited about having a little lovebug like this one!
  • Reading blogs has added so much to my life in the last year and a half.  I get the importance of remembering to unplug, and it isn’t like I spend an inordinate amount of time on the computer.  But I do so love curling up with a cup of coffee and my Google Reader!  I have found so many ideas, so much inspiration, and so much enjoyment out of connecting and sharing with others around the globe.  As of late, I’ve particularly appreciated Laura and her blogs, Move to Portugal and No More Spending, and Lindy and her blog, Minting Nickels.

Enjoy the rest of your weekend! (or is it weekends? Lindy, if you read this, I’m not the grammar whiz that you are! What’s right here? Ack, and I ended a sentence with a preposition! Everyone else: you can see Lindy’s take on grammar rules here 🙂 )

One thought on “Under the Weather and Off the Radar

  1. Laura says:

    Aww thank you! I hope you feel much better very soon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

