The Resolutions Formerly Categorized as “Edification”…

I put a lot of thought into my resolutions, but I may have skimped on my efforts to categorize them.  “Edification” feels a little generous for the next four resolutions, ones that could only hope to provide “intellectual, moral, or spiritual improvement.”  The category titles aren’t particularly important, though.

Without further ado…

Resolution #4: Make quarterly resolutions. My plan is to make new resolutions each quarter, though I’m allowed to subdivide into months or weeks if that’s what I decide.  This is to encourage me to try new resolutions on for size throughout the year.  I hope it will help keep the goal-setting process fresh and dynamic.  I’m especially glad that I put this one in here after finding all kinds of inspiration from the blog posts I’ve been reading this week!

  • Berg @ One. Oh. One. has a list of 101 things she plans to tackle over the next 1001 days.  While I’m feeling the need to master the basics these days (so no list of 100+ for me), I still get excited about trying some variation of some of her goals, like #36, for instance.
  • Ashley Pichea and Meghan Tucker are sponsoring a 3 in 30 Challenge, which they explain here at Success Your Way.  The gist of it is to focus on three resolutions each month.  Between what they’re doing (and what all the challenge participants decide to do!) and what Erin is doing at Unclutterer (a new resolution each month), I should have ample fodder for the rest of 2011.

Resolution #5:  Read a non-History book each month (or, at least, a non-assigned book). I love History.  I majored in History in college, completed a Master’s in History last summer, and I’m currently in school to get certified to teach high school Social Studies.  That means a) a lot of reading and b) much of it is and has been dictated by syllabi.  While I love reading it all, it doesn’t nearly satisfy the breadth of my interests.  I can’t wait to pick out books!  I tend to gravitate toward non-fiction, but I’d like to read some fiction during 2011, too.  I’ll gladly take any book recommendations!

Currently on my bedside table:  A More Profound Alleluia: Theology and Worship in Harmony (Eerdmans Publishing Company, 2005) and Making Sex: Body and Gender from the Greeks to Freud (Harvard University Press, 1990).

Resolution # 6:  Create a home inventory:

a) purge unnecessary and unused items via donation or sales

b) organize remaining items

c) itemize and record items

This is a resolution where the “means” is just as important—if not more important—than the “ends.”  Yes, I will enjoy having a list of what I own.  It might serve as a catalog of things I have available to lend to neighbors and friends.  Or it could help me make (and not make!) purchases.  It could also help for insurance purposes.  But my primary goal is for the process of making the inventory to help me reassess my relationship with the things I own.  I’ve been trying to pare down for a while; this resolution is to keep me moving along that track.

Resolution #7: Implement an exercise calendar. The plan is to print a monthly calendar and place an “X” on the days I exercise.  Below the “X” I will briefly summarize my activity.  Hopefully this will encourage me to make better choices with exercise, just as tracking my expenses has done for my finances.  At the very least, it should help me see trends in when I exercise & what I do for exercise.

Up Next: My Financial Resolutions

3 thoughts on “The Resolutions Formerly Categorized as “Edification”…

  1. […] be decluttering in 2011 anyway.  I enjoy it, I appreciate the results, and I am working towards making a home inventory, which will be much easier with fewer things.  I dream of a minimalist existence, and I have been […]

  2. […] was already sold on “decluttering”—hence Resolution #6 and my objectives described here.  Now, I’m sold on this challenge, […]

  3. […] Resolution #4: Make quarterly resolutions. C+ If you remember, the catch with this one was that I could change my mind and do weekly or monthly resolutions.  I haven’t done so well with the resolution I had in mind, which was to keep a daily journal for jotting down things I’m thankful for and things I’d like to include in my prayers.  Even though I only kept up with that for a week and a half or so, I have done a pretty good job of working towards smaller goals: pursuing more “side hustle” opportunities and working on getting my computer organized.  I also got my room in livable shape.  So, I have been focused on little goals, just not the ones I’d planned. […]

Leave a Reply

